APS Names Five New Fellows at SLAC, Stanford


December 11, 2012

Five physicists from SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory and Stanford University have been elected fellows of the American Physical Society.

Criteria for election include "exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise," including "outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education."

The five fellows from SLAC and Stanford are among 250 individuals elected this year:

Photo - Alexander NovokhatskiAlexander Novokhatski (pictured at left), a staff scientist in the Free-Electron Laser and Beam Physics Department at SLAC. He is recognized for "pioneering contributions to accelerator physics," including work on "BNS damping," a method that improves the performance of SLAC's linear accelerator, as well as his work on "beam dynamics in linear colliders, wakefields and coherent radiation of very short bunches, and the collective instabilities in high-current storage rings."

Heinz Pitsch, who serves as an associate professor in Stanford's Mechanical Engineering Department. The APS Council noted his "groundbreaking contributions" in simulations of turbulent combustion and their application to combustion in aircraft engines, reciprocating engines and gas turbines.

Photo - Headshot of David Reis.David A. Reis (at right), an associate professor in photon science and applied physics and deputy director of the Stanford Pulse Institute – a joint institute of SLAC and Stanford. The APS recognized Reis for "outstanding contributions to the inauguration and development of the burgeoning field of ultrafast X-ray materials science, and particularly for his pioneering use of synchrotron radiation and X-ray laser radiation as tools to understand structural changes in laser-driven solids."

Photo - Headshot of Aaron Roodman.Aaron Roodman (left), a professor on the particle physics and astrophysics faculty at SLAC and deputy director of the Kavli Institute for Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology, who has studied experimental elementary particle physics and fundamental symmetries. The APS Council recognized his "pioneering contributions" in studying symmetry violations and rates of decay for subatomic particles called B mesons, "especially those involving neutral pions and kaons," and in studying interactions of so-called "heavy-flavor" particles such as bottom quarks, charm quarks and tau leptons.

Shan X. Wang, a professor of materials science and engineering and director of the Stanford Center for Magnetic Nanotechnology. His election as an APS Fellow relates to his "seminal contributions to biomagnetics, nanomagnetics and magnetic recording emphasizing fundamental physics and innovative applications of magnetic nanoparticles, spintronic sensors and materials."